icon caret-left icon caret-right instagram pinterest linkedin facebook twitter goodreads question-circle facebook circle twitter circle linkedin circle instagram circle goodreads circle pinterest circle

Winning Authors: Profiles of the Newbery Medalists, 1922-2002

What makes a winning children's book author? Look behind the scenes, and learn more about the 76 fascinating authors who have garnered the prestigious Newbery Medal since it was established in 1922. Engaging profiles of these outstanding writers are generously seasoned with quotes and anecdotes, providing you with unique insights into their personal and professional lives, along with new information on how and why these authors succeeded.

The profiles are organized chronologically, beginning with the first award winner, Hendrik van Loon, and continuing through 2002, when Linda Sue Park made history by becoming the first Korean-American to win a Newbery Medal. Suggested resources for further study and a list of the author's published works for children accompany each biographical sketch. Also included are numerous black-and-white author photos and a brief history of the Newbery Medal. Grades 4-8.

Table of Contents:
Acknowledgments · Preface · To the Reader · Introduction · Appendix · :Chronological Listing of Newbery Medalists · Alphabetical Listing of Newbery Medalists · Newbery Medalists Who Have Won a Newbery Honor Book · Newbery Medalists Who Have Won the Laura Ingalls Wilder Award · Newbery Medalists Who Have Won the Hans Christian Anderson Medal · Newbery Medalists Who Have Won the Coretta Scott King Award or a Coretta Scott King Honor Book · Newbery Medalists Who Have Won the Boston Globe-Horn Book Award · Newbery Medalists Who Have Won the Golden Kite Award · Partial Listing of Autobiographies by Newbery Medalists · Fun Facts About the Newbery Medalists · Photography Credits · Annotated Bibliography · About the Author